

NEW RESEARCHER AWARD Terms of Reference

About the Award

The New Researcher Award is presented annually to members of the university research community in recognition of significant contributions to knowledge or artistic creativity. Up to two awards may be presented annually.

Eligibility

The award is open to all tenure and tenure track faculty members and/or members of the College of Graduate Studies and Research at the university.

Each year, the award will be given to eligible candidates of the university community who are within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D. or terminal degree (extensions will be granted for parental and/or medical leave).

The University of Saskatchewan encourages nominations from the four designated equity groups amongst our faculty – people of Aboriginal descent, women, members of visible minorities, and people with disabilities.

Selection Criteria

The New Researcher Award is given to individuals who have made a significant contribution to knowledge or artistic creativity. This contribution could be a long-term, cumulative contribution or a single, particularly insightful idea, experiment, application, or interpretation.

The selection committee may consider the following criteria in selecting the recipient:

- 1. Demonstrated excellence in research, scholarly, and/or artistic work;
- 2. Recognition by professional societies, community organizations or other external bodies;
- Contributions to the research environment both locally, nationally, and
 internationally. This can include the development of major research installations
 (e.g. a research centre), participation in the deliberations of a major researchgranting agency (e.g. member and/or chair of a grant selection committee), or
 other prestigious forms of service to the field;
- 4. Contributions to the training and education of highly qualified personnel (e.g.: undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and technical staff).

The selection committee reserves the right to make fewer than two awards in any year if there are no suitable candidates.



Selection Committee

The award recipients will be chosen by a selection committee that includes:

- 1. The Vice-President Research or designate (Chair);
- Four senior scholars representing the broad areas of natural and applied sciences; social sciences and humanities; health sciences; and fine and performing arts;
- 3. A graduate student representative and a postdoctoral fellow representative;
- 4. A member of the GAA, selected by the Research, Scholarly and Artistic Work (RSAW) Committee of Council.

Nomination Procedures

Each year, the Office of the Vice-President Research will be responsible for issuing a call for nominations.

Candidates will be nominated by two colleagues at the University of Saskatchewan. The nomination package must include:

- A letter from the nominators summarizing the candidate's research achievements and outlining the national or international significance of the candidate's scholarly work. (Maximum: 3 pages);
- 2. Current curriculum vitae of the candidate in the standardized format required by the University of Saskatchewan;
- 3. Three letters of support from scholars in the candidate's main or cognate fields, commenting on the import and impact of the candidates work nationally and internationally. At least two of these letters must be from scholars outside the University of Saskatchewan.