CRC Advisory Subcommittee Terms of Reference

The CRC Advisory Subcommittee will provide a forum for collegial consideration and serve as an advisory body to the USask Research Chairs Oversight Committee (OC) on matters pertaining to the recruitment, nomination, and renewal of Canada Research Chairs.

Membership

- Associate Vice-President Research Co-chair
- Vice-Provost Faculty Relations Co-chair
- Senior scholars representing the SSHRC, CIHR, and NSERC communities
- Director, Research Acceleration and Strategic Initiatives (RASI), OVPR
- Research Specialist, RASI (resource)

Mandate

- Provide recommendations to the USask Research Chairs OC on: a) the allocation of and recruitment for vacant CRC positions; and b) renewal of CRCs.
- Upon request from the USask Research Chairs OC, provide advice on search and renewal procedures.
- Provide a consultative role to the USask Research Chairs OC and CRC Search Subcommittees during the search process.
- Provide formative feedback in the development of new and renewal CRC nominations; and recommend to the USask Research Chairs OC the suitability of the candidate and the nomination to proceed to submission.

Meeting Schedule

The Committee will meet at the call of the co-chairs.

Evaluation

The Terms of Reference will be reviewed every two years or as needed.

Current membership

- Dawn Wallin Associate Vice-President Research Co-chair
- Scott Walsworth Vice-Provost Faculty Relations Co-chair
- David Janz Professor, WCVM and Acting Director, Toxicology Centre, NSERC representative
- Tim Kelly Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Science, NSERC representative
- Xiaodong Liang, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering, NSERC representative
- Benjamin Hoy Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Science, SSHRC representative
- Keith Walker, Professor, Educational Administration, College of Education, SSHRC representative

- Thomas Fisher, Professor, Department of Anatomy, Physiology and Pharmacology, College of Medicine, CIHR/NSERC representative
- Pammla Petrucka, Professor, College of Nursing, CIHR representative
- Phani Adapa Director, Research Acceleration and Strategic Initiatives (RASI), OVPR
- Doreen Canillas Research Specialist, RASI, OVPR (resource)