Our Experts

Usask researchers are available to comment on their areas of expertise. For more information, contact Victoria Dinh, USask Media Relations at victoria.dinh@usask.ca or (306) 966-5487.

Looking for news tips? Find USask's media releases here.

Dr. Amira Abdelrasoul
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Division of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering
Email: amira.abdelrasoul@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-2946

  • Membrane Science and Nanotechnology, Water Sustainability, Waste Water Treatment, Drinking Water, Modelling and Optimization of water treatment technologies
  • Biomimetic and Bioinspired membranes for hemodialysis and biomedical applications

Dr. Kevin Ansdell
Professor of Geological Sciences
College of Arts and Science
Email: kevin.ansdell@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5698

  • Geoscience and geopolitics of Critical Materials, Green Energy, and the Circular Economy; Mineral deposits, including copper, zinc, gold, rare earth elements, uranium; Nuclear Energy

Dr. Helen Baulch
Centennial Enhancement Chair in Aquatic Ecosystem Biogeochemistry
School of Environment and Sustainability
Email: helen.baulch@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-2549

  • Lakes and wetlands, changing climate and changing winters, water quality and blooms, nutrient management

Dr. Angela Bedard-Haughn
Dean of College of Agriculture and Bioresources
College of agriculture and bioresources
Email: angela.bedard-haughn@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-4050

  • wetlands, soils, climate change, water security, soil carbon

Dr. Maryse Bourgault French-speaking
Assistant Professor, WGRF Research Chair in Integrated Agronomy
College of Agriculture and Bioresources
Email: maryse.bourgault@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-431

  • Agricultural systems and practices in field crops (wheat, canola, pulses, etc.), climate change and drought as it relates to agricultural production (but not predictions)

Dr. Krystopher Chutko
Assistant Professor & Chair, Environment & Society and Environmental Earth Sciences Programs
College of Arts and Science
Email: krys.chutko@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-4907

  • Hydrometeorology, Isotope hydrology, Earth surface processes, Pedagogy

Dr. Jay Famiglietti
Executive Director, Global Institute for Water Security and Canada 150 Research Chair in Hydrology and Remote Sensing
School of Environment and Sustainability
Email: jay.famiglietti@usask.ca 

  • Hydrology, Science Communication, Remote Sensing, Groundwater, Climate Change, Hydrological Modeling, Global Water Availability

Dr. Grant Ferguson
Professor Civil Geological and Environmental
College of Engineering
Email: grant.ferguson@usask.ca 

  • geothermal energy, groundwater modeling, groundwater, hydrogeology, regional hydrology of western Canada, current and legacy impacts of oil and gas on groundwater

Dr. Bobbi Helgason
Associate Professor
College of agriculture and bioresources
Email: bobbi.helgason@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-8151

  • Soil microbiology, Microbial ecology, Plant root-microbe interactions, Soil organic matter, Soil nutrient cycling, Agricultural management

Dr. Chrystal Mantyka-Pringle
Adjunct Professor; works at Conservation Planning Biologist, Northern Boreal Mountains Program, WCS (wildlife conversation society)
University of Saskatchewan
Email: c.mantyka-pringle@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-4149

  • Conservation planning, biodiversity, land-use change, climate change, environmental decision making, water management

Dr. Jeff McDonnell
Associate Director, Global Institute for Water Security, Director, MOST Facility
School of Environment and Sustainability
Email: jeffrey.mcdonnell@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-8529

  • hydrology, isotope tracing, watershed management, water cycle

Dr. John Pomeroy
Director of Global Water Futures Program and Canada Research Chair in Water Resources and Climate Change, Distinguished Professor
Department of Geography and Planning, College of Arts and Science
Email: john.pomeroy@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-1426

  • Climate Change, Ecohydrology, Hydrological Processes, Hydrology, Water Resources, Flooding, National Water Policy, Drought Research

Dr. Corinne Schuster-Wallace
Associate Director of Global Water Futures Program
Department of Geography and Planning, College of Arts and Science
Email: cschuster.wallace@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-2103

  • Local Water Security for Health, Water, Disease, and Climate Change, Water and Sustainable Development, Coupled systems approaches, Women and Gender and Water

Dr. Priscilla Settee
Professor of Indigenous Studies
College of Arts and Science
Email: priscilla.settee@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5556

  • Indigenous Foods, Indigenous politics, Social Economies in Indigenous Communities, Indigenous Knowledge Systems, Protection of Biodiversity,
  • Impact of Globalization on Indigenous Peoples, Indigenous Women's Rights, Food Sovereignty

Dr. Cherie Westbrook
Director of CREATE for Water Security
Department of Geography and Planning, College of Arts and Science
Email: cherie.westbrook@usask.ca 

  • climate change, wetland, hydrology, water policy, ecohydrology, beavers, peatlands

Dr. Jorden Cummings
Associate Professor, co-Director of Clinical Training in Psychology and Health Studies
College of Arts and Science
Email: jorden.cummings@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-7147

  • PTSD, child trauma, stress, and self-care practices

Dr. Colleen Dell
Professor and Research Chair in One Health & Wellness
College of Arts and Science
Email: colleen.dell@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5912

  • Animal Assisted Interventions, Addictions, Criminalization

Dr. Erika Dyck
Professor, Canada Research Chair in the History of Medicine
College of Arts and Science
Email: erika.dyck@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5049

  • History of health and medicine, deinstitutionalization, 20th century medical history, eugenics

Dr. Leah Ferguson
Associate Professor, Kinesiology
College of Kinesiology
Email: leah.ferguson@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-1093

  • Compassion in sport, sport psychology

Dr. Tamara Hinz
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
College of Medicine
Email: tamara.hinz@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 844-1265

  • Child psychiatry

Dr. Ayisha Kurji
Assistant Professor, General Pediatrics and pediatrician
College of Medicine
Email: ayisha.kurji@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 844-1278

  • Eating disorders, pediatrics

Dr. Jennifer Lang
Associate Professor of Choral/Music Education
College of Arts and Science
Email: jennifer.lang@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-6812

  • Choral conducting, engagement and agency in music education programs, including informal music learning in a variety of educational contexts, music creation in the classroom, and intergenerational singing programs

Dr. Megan O'Connell
Professor in Psychology and Health Studies, and clinical psychologist
College of Arts and Science
Email: megan.oconnell@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-2496

  • Alzheimer's disease, dementia, aging, psychometrics, telemedicine

Dr. Pei-Ying Lin
Associate Professor, Educational Psychology and Special Education
College of Education
Email: pei-ying.lin@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5265

  • Instructional and test accommodations for students with disabilities and English language learners

Dr. Madhav Sarda
Child and adolescent psychiatrist
College of Medicine
Email: mps355@mail.usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 844-1004

  • Child and adolescent mental health

Dr. Adam Stacey
Assistant Professor and Clinic Director in Psychology and Health Studies
College of Arts and Science
Email: adam.stacey@usask.ca 
Phone: 306-966-2322

  • Occupational Health, Patient-Physician Relationships, Patient-Centred Care, Mindfulness, Medical Curricula and Training

Dr. Kurtis Boyer
Post-Doc/Faculty member
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
Email: kurtis.boyer@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 713-5476

  • Métis politics, Métis governance, Indigenous governance

Dr. Vince Hopkins (PhD)
Assistant Professor
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
Email: vince.hopkins@usask.ca 
Phone: (604) 615-6927

  • public policy; unemployment; poverty; social programs, public administration

Dr. Haizhen Mou
Professor
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
Email: haizhen.mou@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5305

  • fiscal policy, government budgeting, health expenditure and financing, federal transfers and intergovernmental fiscal relationship

Dr. Peter WB Phillips
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Centre for the Study of Science and Innovation Policy
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
Email: peter.phillips@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 361-8584

  • science policy, innovation policy, economic policy, climate policy, governance

Dr. Yang Yang
Assistant Professor
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
Email: yang.yang@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-1748

  • Food Policy, Consumer Behaviour, Behavioural Economics, Public Finance

Dr. Alyson Kelvin
Virologist, Vaccinologist, Immunologist
Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization (VIDO)
Email: alk308@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-3304

  • emerging viruses, Emerging respiratory viruses, Age-related disease (pediatric and older) associated with respiratory infection, seasonal/pandemic/avian influenza viruses, SARS-CoV-2, Long COVID, vaccine design and development

Dr. Hassan Masri
Department Head & Assistant Professor ICU/Trauma
College of Medicine
Email: drhass@gmail.com 
Phone:

  • ICU specialist

Dr. Nazeem Muhajarine
Professor Community Health and Epidemiology
College of Medicine
Email: nazeem.muhajarine@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-7940

  • epidemiology, social and behavioural factors, population and public health; and Coronavirus Variants Rapid Response Network

Dr. Cory Neudorf
Professor Community Health and Epidemiology, and the interim senior medical health officer
College of Medicine, USask and Saskatchewan Health Authority
Email: cory.neudorf@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-2276

  • health equity and quality improvement in public health systems and interventions

Dr. Jenny-Lee Thomassin French-speaking 
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology
College of Medicine
Email: jenny-lee.thomassin@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-5322

  • bacteria, bacterial pathogenesis

Dr. Yannick Tremblay French-speaking 
Lecturer
College of Medicine, Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology
Email: yannick.tremblay@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 966-6278

  • microbiology, bacteriology, infectious diseases

Dr. Alexander Wong
Associate Professor Infectious Diseases and infectious disease physician and clinician-researcher
College of Medicine and Saskatchewan Health Authority
Email: alexander.wong@usask.ca 
Phone: (306) 766-3915

  • infectious disease, COVID-19, HIV, hepatitis B, hepatitis C, addictions medicine, harm reduction, overdose prevention